Nokia N82 appreciation usecase #2: On a whim, shooting the rooftop concert

I do have a digital video camera – a good old Sony DCR 115, which cost me about $3000 (!!) back in 2002. However, it isn’t exactly pocket-sized, and it uses DV tapes, which feel hopelessly analogue considering they store bits.  I hardly ever use it – though the picture quality is great and the 10x zoom very handy, it is just too big, and handling the amount of data it produces too cumbersome.

Enter my N82. It has VGA-resolution 640×480 video capture at 30 frames per second – I’d call it VHS quality, Nokia calls it “TV quality”. The sound quality is decent. And, of course, I always bring it with me. So when the company has brought a great musician to the summer party, it’s just a matter of deciding which parts of the concert to enjoy fully and which parts to “store” on my N82 (which could save all of it on its 8 gigabyte memory card, if I wanted it to).

Looking back at all the moments I’ve captured with my N82 over the last year, there is no way I’m getting a new phone with at least as good video capabilities.

Here’s one example: Molde on New Year’s day

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

