The moment of truth

Photo 86

I was just considering buying some songs on the iTunes music store. For some reasons, which I’ll detail in a bit, I didn’t, but headed over to The Pirate Bay and BTJunkie instead. After not finding the music I was looking for (it’s probably too old), I stumbled across a reference to http://piracykillsmusic.no. I’m typing this now because I watched the anti-piracy video there and was immensly provoked.

It’s really just the standard bullcrap about how the poor record companies are losing tons of money on illegal downloads, concluding that it’s easy and safe to download music legally. OK, Mr. Record Company Man, here are some news for you:

– You might think that all the MP3s on my disk is lost revenue for you. You are wrong – if I hadn’t been able to copy that music, I would never have listened to most of it. 99% of the MP3s I have in my collection which I would have bought if I wasn’t able to copy them, corresponds to the CDs in my music collection and the tracks I’ve bought off iTunes.

– After spending lots of money on concerts, DVDs and CDs you get really annoyed when hearing for the umpteenth time that you are killing music by copying it. In fact, I have several concert DVDs that I never would have bought without getting aquainted with the music through MP3s copied from friends.

– I didn’t buy those tracks of iTunes because
1) They don’t play off my MP3 player, since they have DRM.
2) They are a pain to backup, because of the license key required to play them.
3) I can’t give a copy to my girlfriend without burning a copy to CD. I’d consider that fair use.
4) They probably have lower fidelity than the stuff you can get on CD or bittorrent.

I’m so sick and tired of hearing you whine about piracy! The solution to all your woes is easy. Sell 160/320 kbps MP3s without DRM.

My credit card is lined up to buy the first single released as a clean MP3 through a major record company in Norway – no matter what it is – just to prove a point. Bring it on!

8 Responses to “The moment of truth”

  1. Torgeir Says:

    Also, consider the amount of money they wasted on this campain, which most people see right through. You’re not the only one being provoked.

    Instead of offering a product the customers want to pay for, the industry fights the customers. How can fighting the customers be a good business strategy?

  2. Anders Says:

    I totally agree with both of you. I’m damn sure that if they had worked with the market rather than against it from the beginning they would have been far, far, FAR better off than they are now. Hunting for illagal music is a pain in many cases, playing legal music on mp3players etc. is a pain. Just keep it simple and make it easy enough, and cheap enough for the users..

    I wonder what will happen with the physical record and movie (rental) stores the next 10 years though, I don’t think I would invest my money in that business at the moment.

  3. Johannes Says:

    I agree as well. Probably the major record companies kill music more than pirates do. The profit they have made on bringing music to the people has been artificially high and what we are seeing now is just a natural adjustment towards more effective distribution of music.

    Why should we pay for their insanely costly parties and marketing campaigns? Their job can and should be done cheaper and better, and these days most of them are being punished by consumers for being megalomaniacs and/or just outright lazy.

  4. Are Wold Says:

    Seems I hit a nerve with you guys ;)

    Hopefully it is just a matter of time before the record industry (and the movie industry for that matter) realise that they are digging their own graves on this issue, and start to act sensibly… You won’t find many consumers supporting their position, but a whole lot of people strongly disagree with (and even loathe) them.

  5. Margrethe Says:

    I just read a bit about this in the book Open Sources 2.0 where they are using the videocassette recorder as one example on how the entertainment companies always have fought new technologies. When the videocassette recorder first was introduced the movie studios tried to shut down Sony (which made the first videocassette recorder), but when they didn’t succeed they converted their peril into a profit center and made money by selling and renting videocassettes. So instead of being afraid of the new technology they made money from it, and both the public and the creators shared the benefits of the new technology. I hope the music and DVD companies learn something from this soon. There are money to be made without having license key on everything and scaring costumers into buying legal music.

  6. Awesome stuff is happening! « Are about everything Says:

    […] Are about everything technology, politics, computing… and now and then, something related to my master’s thesis ;) « The moment of truth […]

  7. Cobbity Says:

    I agree – itunes is not user friendly – why bother?

  8. Are Wold Says:

    I’m looking very much forward to seeing AmazonMP3 launched worldwide. The unDRMed AAC files I get from ITMS won’t play on my Nokia phone.

Leave a Reply

