When That Which Is Not Supposed To Happen happens anyway

Rrrrright, you guessed it – total system freeze in OS X. I can move the cursor around, but that’s it. The only remedy was doing a hard shutdown with the power button.

I would have been less annoyed by this if I was doing something unusual, like running an application I’m not normally running, or trying out new hardware, or really REALLY pushing the system, but I was just doing nothing in particular. And I would also be less annoyed if /var/log/system.log had any information at all about what happened.

Maybe RAM issues, or some other hardward problem? I’ll have to check. In any event – in addition to all the reasons stated above, I am doubly annoyed because I’m on OS X, which isn’t supposed to crash. Pfffft.

2 Responses to “When That Which Is Not Supposed To Happen happens anyway”

  1. Fred Says:

    I have this same problem a few times a month.

  2. Are Wold Says:

    Interestingly, this hasn’t happened to me for quite a while now. Maybe because of recent patches/updates? I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

