Foxit Reader – an alternative to the Acrobat Reader for PDF files

About a week ago, I decided to try an alternative to Acrobat Reader. I’ve used Foxit Reader once before, but just briefly, and stopped using it for some reason. Since I’ve been using it frequently for about a week now, I thought I should give it some publicity.

Why use an alternative PDF reader?

Acrobat Reader is a bloated application. Just trying to start it proves that; it easily requires 5 – 10 seconds to load the average PDF document on my computer with 1 gigabyte of memory. A glance at the toolbars, with lots of functionality you never use, is another significant hint.

Foxit Reader loads the PDF instantaneously and is much faster at browsing through pages. Also, it doesn’t have features I don’t need, meaning it can view the PDF, print it, and search in it. The search functionality is the only negative thing I’ve experienced with Foxit thus far – it works, but it’s not as intuitive as Acrobat’s.

And (almost) best of all, if you use Windows’ grouping feature on the taskbar, Foxit works like any other application. That means you can right-click on a group and close all of the programs in the group with one click. That’s something you can’t do with Acrobat Reader – maybe there is some setting somewhere that enables you to do it, but I haven’t been able to find it. I’m the kind of guy that opens four or five PDF documents at a time, and having to close them one by one is just a pain in the rear.

There’s also another, non-technical reason for trying Foxit Reader. The PDF format has become pretty important in the computer world, and for a format that important, we shouldn’t rely on one vendor for the associated software.

So – I suggest you try the free Foxit Reader. It also comes without any sort of adware/spyware as far as I know.

5 Responses to “Foxit Reader – an alternative to the Acrobat Reader for PDF files”

  1. anon sam Says:

    I had a terrible experience with Adobe customer service. I had a quick anonymous, very general question, but they would not help me unless I gave them my phone number. The reason they told me they needed it was just in case the call was disconnected, they would be able to call me back. I told them I didn’t want them to call me back, and if they did, I would not answer anyway. Even so, they continued to rudely demand my private information, and the call ended very poorly to make a long story short.
    I also noticed Adobe does not allow (and seems to really go out of there way), to not let software updates be downloaded via a proxy. Those, and the reasons you listed, are why I boycott Adobe now.

    Also, if you do a search for Foxit on softpedia.com, they claim it to be free of malware, and I find they’re pretty reliable about that sort of thing.

    There is also a new 2.0 beta version of Foxit here:
    http://www.foxitsoftware.com/bbs/showthread.php?p=3327#post3327

  2. joedenardis Says:

    I completely agree with anon sam! I had a terrible experience with Adobe’s product and customer service. I could never fully activate my copy of Adobe Acrobat Standard. A copy that I legitimately purchased from my local Wal-Mart store. They tried to make me pay for assistance from their customer service team. How riddiculous! So I uninstaled all Adobe softwrae from my computer. I have been happily using Foxit PDF Reader and Nitro PDF Pro (http://www.nitropdf.com) for the past year. Both are very quick and reliable. And best of all, they aren’t made by Adobe. :-)

  3. Says:

    Awesome site! http://radislavcuabyg.narod.ru/33.html – [url=http://radislavcuabyg.narod.ru/33.html]soft.info[/url] – soft.infosoft.info, rarog.org, http://wexchange.biz, http://www.shatters.net, uznet.net, everygay.org, xxx, zyacev.net, imek.org, issa, http://www.vologda.ru, lardi.com.ua, neznakomka.ru, just, v, http://www.yorkshir.su, net, http, j, need.ru, info, extern.ru, x, obkom.net.ua, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , best regards.

  4. bypass filters Says:

    Some really usefull information here if you pay attention, thanks

  5. Pdf To Word Converters Says:

    Have you thought of adding some videos to your posts to keep the visitors more entertained? I just read through the entire article and it was good¡­thanks for the share

Leave a Reply

