SingStar Solo!

After thinking about it for a few days, I finally went out and bought SingStar + microphones for the PS2. I knew it was great fun, but the reason I’ve been a bit hesitant is that I’m not that often in a SingStar-friendly environment. Maybe that’ll change, but as a guy who tends to be (too) fond of singing in the shower, en route to school or just whenever the opportunity arises, I suspected that I might find it fun on my own too.

It is!

A game that requires skills of this kind; concentration, some vocal chords and a pair of ears – just engages you in a different fashion than games that only take input from your hands.

Besides, you get to learn the lyrics of great 80s songs. Oops, did I write that?!

For those not in the know, SingStar is a game in which you attempt to sing songs karaoke-style and get points based on how well you sing- that is, how good you are at hitting the right notes at the right time. You can sing alone, take turns, or sing duets with or against friends, competing for the best score. The disc I’ve here, SingStar 80s, comes with 30 songs + music videos. You play it, it plays the music and the music video, shows you the lyrics and the notes you’re supposed to sing. As you sing, you get points.

It’s probably not hard to imagine that this is a popular party game – people often need to loosen up a bit before letting it rip. Most people, anyway ;)

For the record, my favourite tracks on the 80s disc are Material Girl with Madonna, Walking on Sunshine with Katarina and the Waves and Heaven is a Place on Earth with Belinda Carlisle. Yeah!

2 Responses to “SingStar Solo!”

  1. Margrethe Says:

    No surprise you finally bought this game. I’ve been waiting for it sometimes now;)
    You forgot to mention Poison by Alice Cooper.

    “I wanna taste you but your lips are venomous poison.
    You’re poison running through my veins”

    The 80’s doesn’t get any better than this!
    Hunting High and Low or some other A-ha songs should have been on the disc, but I guess I can’t get everything at once…

  2. Vidar Says:

    Yey, that’s the way to go:)! Nothing tops the feeling you get, singing on the top of your lungs while bugging the neighbours;) Nice articles!

Leave a Reply

