Dell Inspiron 6400 emitting loud beep when connecting to the wireless network

Margrethe has had a curious issue with her new Dell laptop – when she has put it to sleep and resumed working, it has made a loud beep when re-connecting to the wireless network. After googling around a bit, I found a few possible solutions to this problem, one of which we’ve tried and seems to be working this far.

1) Open Intel PRO/Wireless (the application controlling your wireless adapter, running in the system tray in the bottom right corner, it’s a green, fan-like icon showing the connection quality). Go to the Tools menu and enter Application settings. There are a number of checked boxes under “Alerts” – un-check them and click “OK”. This seems to be working on this system so far.

2) If that fails, you can try to disable the built-in beeper (speaker). Your PC would be unable to beep, but other sound should work. Go to the Start menu -> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager. In the list, double-click “System devices”. Somewhere in that list, you should find “System speaker”. Right-click it and choose “disable”.

These tips were gleaned from a thread over at the NotebookReview forums: Very useful thread on the beep “problem” / feature affecting Dell Inspirons.

Hope this helps someone!

In an unspecified future post: A review of my MacBook!

PS: The Inspiron 6400 is in general a nice machine. This particular example of the species has got integrated graphics and the cheapest screen – at the price, it’s a well-rounded machine. Its main negatives are size/weight. The large battery option is well worth it – an actual battery life of 4 – 5 hours is great!

20 Responses to “Dell Inspiron 6400 emitting loud beep when connecting to the wireless network”

  1. Margrethe Says:

    The beep sound is gone and I’m very happy:)

  2. justin Says:

    thanks dude…

    i mean i could have found that myself but i was somewhat too lazy to really look for it

    j.

  3. Joris Says:

    I tried your solutions but neither of them seemed to work so I googled a bit further and found this site:
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=48862&page=3&highlight=dell+beep

    I quote A2D:
    “I managed to solve this on my M1710 by using TweakUI, Clicking On General and Unticking “Beep On Errors”

    This is caused by having no sound attached to “Default Beep” in the Sound And Audio Devices; Sound Tab. It then resorts to using your PC Speaker.

    Another alternative is disabling “Beep” in the Device Manager (Show hidden devices, under Non-Plug and Play Drivers) However, I’m not sure if doing this will also disable beeps in the BIOS.”

    The TweakUI option downloadable from http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx seems to work best!

    Good luck!

  4. Andrew Says:

    Brilliant Man! It worked (Number 1) perfectly and now I have no more annoying beep sounds!

    The only thing is that I still get them when I get an email, so I think that I am going to have to also disable my speaker!!!

    ~Andrew

  5. Droobey Says:

    My laptop is now beep free. I knew I could disable the speaker somewhere bu t I couldn’t quite remember where.

  6. kk Says:

    Sometimes you find exaclty what you are looking for.

    very helpful,
    Thanks

  7. JE Says:

    The first method worked for me.
    Thanks a lot.

  8. Bill Says:

    I found this post by googling, I was able to use the second method to disable the speaker. Was very annoying, I got the beep whenever one of my guest operating systems in vmware had a system error message pop up..

    thanks

  9. Julia Says:

    Ahhh….no more beeps that make me practically throw my laptop across the room in fright…

  10. Michael Asteriou Says:

    Yes! That’s good…I had the same problem as Julia…always shocked me and my heart jumped…now it’s gone…

  11. anon Says:

    On Dell Inspiron 6400 post scan by registry fix tool, ‘Advanced Windows Care’ i kept getting the annoying system beep. An electronic sounding buzz or system beep. This article did give me pointers, the solution in this case was else where.

    The registry fix utility turned on the sound in the control panel sound profile. Window XP.

    Open control panel ‘sounds and audio devices’. Click on Sounds tab, here the sound scheme drop down had blank profile. I changed this to ‘no sound’. i think it fixed the problem.

  12. Brian Says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. thx!

  13. Giovanni Says:

    So after reading what Joris said about windows not finding a sound for Beep, i tried changing my sound profile from No Sound to Windows default, and i can live with that quieter beep

    Control Panel -> Sound -> Sounds Tab -> Sound Scheme ->Windows default

  14. whiteninja Says:

    Hey, double clicked the speaker, went to properties and clicked the PC Speaker option, then muted it.

    Worked!!

  15. dan Says:

    this worked gr8 i was sick and tired of hearing that bloody beep everytime i connected to the net wirelessly

  16. Marcelo Says:

    It works. Thanks mate. Thank you Google, too!

  17. Dawood Mamedoff Says:

    That’s a really annoying sound! I made it mute using this trick:

    http://www.myhowtoos.com/en/windows-howtoos/78-how-to-remove-a-beep-sound-on-the-laptop

  18. Wireless Speakers Says:

    That is good information, much appreciated.,

  19. Detoxification Of Your Body Says:

    i would like to buy wireless speakers but what is the best brand? .~*

  20. laptop servis Says:

    laptop servis…

    [...]Dell Inspiron 6400 emitting loud beep when connecting to the wireless network « Are about everything[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

